Monday, December 26, 2016


In the state of Florida, it is mandatory for drivers to obtain car insurance when they register their vehicle. Due to Florida's no-fault laws, each driver involved in an accident must rely on their own policy to compensate them for any injuries and car damage, regardless of who was at fault. The minimum insurance is $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL).

If you suffered from a personal injury during a car accident, your PIP benefits are intended to pay for medical expenses and compensate you for lost wages or replacement benefits. PDL benefits will cover the cost of damage caused to your property. In Florida, it is illegal for a driver to be on the road without insurance. Those caught without insurance may have their license suspended until they can show proof of insurance and pay a fine of $500 for every violation.

So, what if the other driver is uninsured?
If you have been involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist, you are not responsible for their damages. Insurance companies are legally supposed to offer UMI coverage to their clients, and if they refuse, they must sign a written document claiming they declined the offer.

It is strongly recommend to get UIM coverage in case you are involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist. This can also help that you are properly compensated for your injuries. Furthermore, since the state does not require you to obtain bodily injury liability (BIL), which covers costs of other's injuries, other drivers may not have this type of coverage to cover your costs.

If you suffered from a personal injury in a car accident with an uninsured motorist, you can also file a personal injury claim, so long as you can prove the other driver's negligence.

If you would like to receive further information regarding uninsured motorists and personal injury claims, contact The Florida Law Group to speak with a Tampa car accident attorney.

No comments:

Post a Comment